Long Run

Sunday: some dynamic stretching, 15k run, 500m cool down walk, 5min stretching.

Instead of running 5k on Saturday morning at Oranmore parkrun, I volunteered for the very first time. Given the fact, that I ran 11k to work on Friday and had a long run scheduled for Sunday, it only made sense to sit this one out. Also, I wanted to do a little bit of volunteering this year and make sure that others can enjoy their free, timed 5k run on a Saturday. Volunteering means arriving half an hour early for a briefing, get set up etc. My job was to give out tokens at the finish line. We had at least 293 runners this Saturday. New Years Resolutions as well as Operation Transformation have a huge impact on the numbers at the beginning of the year. I enjoyed my first volunteering experience and my little son was helping out a bit too.

Thanks to my wife, I was able to sleep in till 8.30 am on Sunday morning. I was out the door within 30 min or so. Didn’t have breakfast or any fruit before the run, just a glass of water. I decided to bring the SpeedDraw Plus bottle by Nathan.

 

I filled it with water and put one HIGH5 Gel into the pocket, just in case. It was a very frosty, dry and a sunny morning. I do enjoy this type of weather a lot. I planned to run a bit longer than my longest run so far (14k) but also did not want to overdo it after a two weeks break. 15k seemed rather a reasonable distance. For the first 5 to 7k I kept going through all the bad things that might happen on the run, what I should expect and how I should deal with it. As a coping mechanism, I tried to visualise my 1st half marathon finish and the feeling it’ll give me. It worked quite well today and once I forgot I was running, I started to enjoy the scenery.

 

The bottle performed better than I thought it would i.e. it wasn’t an obstruction nor was it annoying or very noticeable. Changed hands a couple of times but that’s it. I kept taking little sips maybe every 1.5 k after km 5. I returned home with only half of the bottle content gone. I used the gel at km 12 to give myself a little boost on the home stretch.

I really enjoyed today’s run. 15km is now officialy the longest distance I’ve ran. It’s all about continuing with the plan, staying injury free and healthy. Six weeks till the Kinvara Rock and Road Half Marathon.

Long Run STRAVA Activity

Long Run

Leave a Reply

