Friday Run Commute

Run Commute: No warm up, 11k run, 500m cool down walk.

Thursday morning didn’t work out for a run commute as my wife needed me to help with stuff in the morning and we drove to work. This morning, I woke up 5 min before my 6am alarm and I waited patiently for the alarm to go off. Once I turned it off I decided to stay in bed for a couple of minutes. Woke up in panic 10min later. Got dressed, brushed my teeth, had a glass of water and off I went with the most recent Marathon Talk Podcast in my ears. It was a rather cold but dry morning.

I made strategic decision not to bring any water on the run to avoid any temptation to stop for a drink. It worked, however at km 2 I had to stop as the podcast has stopped playing for some reason. As I use the wired yurbuds for my running, I had to take the backpack off to reach into the top pocket and start the playback again.

I have mentally prepared myself for two milestones during today’s run, km 6 (that’s where I stopped on last run commute) and km 8 (same as km 6). I found that it helped with the motivation and kept me going. Unfortunately, at km 8 I had to take a break and reach into top pocket of the rucksack again to increase the volume. This is when the traffic really starts and the cars passing by are getting louder.

I ran through km 10, that’s where I gave up completely on Tuesday’s commute and kept going to km 11. I decided to take the last 500 meters walking and use it as a cool down.

Even though, it wasn’t without minor hiccups, it was a very enjoyable run and has instilled me with a bit of confidence. 6 weeks left till the Kinvara half marathon.

The backpack (OMM Ultra 15) has performed superbly this morning. I didn’t have to adjust any straps, it just sat there comfortably and after a little while, I forgot that I had it on. Minor thing is that the waist strap (which actually sits across my belly rather than waist) moved a little bit from side to side. I’m not sure if it’s the backpack itself or my hips movement (or the stride in fact). This didn’t cause chafing or any problems at all and was barely noticeable.

Run Commute STRAVA Activity

Friday Run Commute

Leave a Reply

