The consequences of not running for 2 weeks

Run Commute: No warm up, 10k run.

When packing my new run commute backpack last night, I was looking forward to my run in the morning. Got out of the bed at 6.10, put the running gear on, checked head torch – put in new batteries, backpack on, doors locked, off to work I ran.

It took me a while to get the backpack set up comfortably enough. I did this whilst running, of course. It seems that the sternum strap just keeps going up. I need to look into this again. I have possibly set all of the straps a bit wrong. The backpack itself is very light and seems to sit well against the back. I haven’t noticed too much bouncing or any discomfort. I have for the first time, brought some water with me in the side pocket. I used one of my small cycling bottles and filled it with approx. 300ml.

At km 6, I had to stop for a toilet break, and took the opportunity to have a sip of water. This is when things started to go bad. Both legs and mind started to struggle to keep going. At km 8, I stopped again and had a sip of water. At km 10 Istopped running completely and decided to walk the remaining 1.5k. What the F*&%K just happened? That’s the question I kept asking myself as I continued to walk to work.

The conclusion I came to was: I was sick for a week, then I flew over to the U.S. for nearly a week, where I put my body through torture of a different nature (four consecutive nights of substantial alcohol consumption, 5-6 hours sleep and rather unhealthy food). In total 2 weeks of not running, lack of consistency as well as very poor lifestyle choice has lead to this moment, where I was not able to push myself to run another 1.5k.

Some of it is my fault and some isn’t, however it is entirely up to me to get to where I need to be.

Run Commute STRAVA Activity

The consequences of not running for 2 weeks

2 thoughts on “The consequences of not running for 2 weeks

Leave a Reply

