Not Running Sucks.

It’s been a while since last blog post. It’s also been a while since last run.

Unfortunately, I had a full two week break from running. The dreaded man flu attacked early in the New Year and put me out for more than a week. After that, I travelled to Boston with work for our annual sales kick-off. I actually brought some running gear with me as somewhat naively I hoped to be able to fit a running session or two. The only running I did was the very night after we landed, but it wasn’t a pure running session but a football match. It’s now a tradition, that we play against our American colleagues. This was the 2nd game ever and 2nd victory.

Yesterday I was just focused on getting over jet lag. Today I managed to get out for a run before lunch. This was the first running session of 2017. It was also a very tough session, both physically and mentally. For these two reasons, it was also a very important session. For someone who is quite determined to run regularly as well as for someone who has a half marathon coming up in less than two months, not being able to run for whatever reason is very difficult. Even though you know it’s not your fault (when you’re sick), you tend to end up beating yourself up. It’s a very difficult time. And for that reason and as a reminder I got myself this t-shirt:

 

Today’s lunch run: Easy warm up, 6.4k run, walk to cool down.

It wasn’t too cold but it was a bit wet, not that it mattered, as the run was going to be tough. I decided to do one of those very easy sessions, which would hopefully help getting back into regular training. After such a long break and being sick I did not want to risk any injuries. Majority of the time running I was trying to form a plan on how to get back into shape for the half marathon in early March. Eventually, I decided that a run commute to work on Tuesdays and Thursdays, giving me two sessions with 11+ k and a long run on Sundays should be enough. After all, I researched and bought a run commute backpack.

 

I hope to review this backpack in the future.

Here’s to getting back on track for my first half marathon.

Today’s lunch run STRAVA Activity

Not Running Sucks.

Leave a Reply

