Run Commute (2nd day in a row)

No warm up, 11k Run Commute to Work, stretching.

Step 1 – drink a glass of water.

Step 2 – DO NOT drink an espresso.

Step 3 – Get out the door.

All above steps were followed, with a big focus on Step 2. Given yesterday’s experience, I needed to avoid the espresso shot, as it nearly made me get sick twice on yesterday’s commute. This was a good call and no such symptoms occurred.

The backpack I ran with yesterday weighed 7kg and it wasn’t too pleasant running with such heavy load. I dug deep last night and found an old cycling commute bag, which I must’ve bought back in 2012. It’s a Wiggle’s own brand dhb Slice 25. Chaniging to a lighter backpack and bringing different shoes resulted in shaving off at least 2kg. Id didn’t however perform as well as the much heavier Osprey Momentum 30. Whilst there was no noticable bounce when running, I felt that the shoulder straps were slightly off (as in 1cm above) the shoulders and moved a side to side a bit. If I didn’t wear a jacket or ran a longer distance, I would’ve ended up with some chafing around the neck.

As we’re moving to a new office in January, we will still have a shower at work and some lockers, which would allow me to store at least work shoes and maybe even a change of clothes. This will significantly reduce the weight of the commute load. Now, I need to do some research and decide what small-ish backpack should I get for run commuting. I’d say probably a 15 to 20 Litres capacity at maximum. The Run Commuter website seems to be a great resource.

Today’s run was more painful than yesterday. Legs were still fatigued and I felt rather tired from the get go. It was one of those rare happy moments once I saw the office builing. I’m here. I’m done.

To my surprise, I ended up with a better time and a pace just under 6 minutes per km.

Run Commute STRAVA Activity

Run Commute (2nd day in a row)

Leave a Reply

