Run Commute

No warm up, 11k Run Commute to Work, stretching.

As wife and son are still enjoying the Christmas break, I didn’t want to wake them up and ask them to drive me to the train station, I had three choices: walk to train/bus, cycle to work or run to work. Being on the running high and wanting to get as many miles in as possible before the year ends, I decided to run. I have done this before, so I packed the bag before going to bed last night. It seemed rather heavy, as had to bring shoes, jacket towel and shower gel. I consider myself lucky to have a shower at work. I weighed it and came at nearly 7kg! The backpack I used is my cycling commute one (Osprey Momentum 30), and it’s not the lightest.

I got out the door roughly at 6:50am, knowing that the run will take me more than an hour for a couple of reasons: the weight of the fully packed bag and fatigued legs from the Fields of Athenry 10k on Monday.

As it was dark, the headlamp and a rear red blinking light were a necessity. Thankfully it was a dry and not too cold of a morning. I did enjoy the run, but at km 7 I felt like getting sick on the side of the road. This must’ve been the espresso I consumed only two minutes before heading out. I did not stop and it went away after 5min or so, just to feel the same thing at km 10. The waist strap of the backpack did not help in this situation. Being so close to work, decided to keep going hoping this would go away just like the first time. Thankfully it did.

All things considered, I’m rather happy with the average pace of 6:00 per km.

If I feel ok tonight, I might do the same run commute tomorrow (will lay off the espresso, though), and will make Friday a rest day. Planning to finish the year with a parkrun on New Year’s Eve.

Run Commute STRAVA Activity

Run Commute

Leave a Reply

