Week 11 – Day 2

7k run, 5min stretching.

The first training day this week was the early morning 8k run on Tuesday. This was followed by a 5-a-side football game with workmates in the evening. I havent kicked a ball in over 10 years. I don’t think I have to tell you how hard that 45mins of running after a ball was. Even though playing football is much different from just running, this still indicates, I think, lack of fitness.

My legs were rather fatigued on Wednesday, but I was determined to go out for the 2nd training session this week on Thursday morning. Now, this did not happen. Legs were still sore on Thursday.

In other news, my new Garmin watch arrived yesterday…

Thanks for the speedy delivery @wigglecycling! #santacameearly #garminfenix3

A post shared by @maciej_ie on

 

Being a geek, loving new technology and gadgets in general I am over the moon. It took just over a month of research, reading reviews and watching youtube videos before I made my decision.

Great motivation to go out for a run this Friday morning. Wearing the new watch on my wrist and a HR strap for the first time ever.

It was still rather mild with temperature of 6°C, but quite foggy with plenty of puddles. Started off easy enough, hoping that the legs will allow for the hill repeats after 3k warm up run. Unfortunately, my hopes were not fulfilled and decided to turn back. Still feeling some niggles here and there, I didn’t want to go to intense and risk an injury. Rather than that, it was great to be out running. I hate the feeling of missing a training session, I think this is a common problem with runners.

I don’t know much about HR and not sure what all these numbers mean yet as I don’t even know what my resting HR is, but I’d like to be able to train with HR zones, as according to some people you can really make significant improvements when you pay close attention to it. My average HR on today’s run was 167 bpm with max being 181 bpm.

Discovering all the features and data provided by the watch will keep me engaged and motivated, this I know for sure. I am a geek in the end.

Week 11 – Day 2 STRAVA Activity 

Week 11 – Day 2

Leave a Reply

