Week 8 – Day 2

6k easy run, 8x100m @ 4:30 per km pace with 8x100m recovery, 1k cool down run.

The alarm was set for 5:30am this morning.I was out the door at 5:43. According to my weather app it was -1°C. Frost everywhere and some paths were very slippy. This has naturally slowed me down from the start quite a bit and I continued with quite an easy pace for the 6k staying over 5:30 pace per km.I felt rather fresh for the 8 repeats of 100m at pace 4:30 – 4:40 /km.

workout-8x100

This was by far one of the most enjoyable training sessions since I started this plan. I think it’s mainly due to the easy pace, which I was able to hold for the full 6k+. Why 6k+? At km 4, my Garmin watch has stopped tracking the distance for some reason and I had to pause and resume a couple of times before it kicked in again. (It recorder km 4 to have taken 11 minutes?!)

Running the same route was not boring as the conditions were different and I was just enjoying the frosty scenery.

Very happy with this morning’s session and delighted to have shaken off the head cold. It feels great to be back running after missing the 2 sessions last week.

Week 8 – Day 2 STRAVA Activity 

Week 8 – Day 2

Leave a Reply

