Week 3 – Day 2

Couple of jumps and stretches, 7 km run, 500m cool down jog and stretches.

A very nice, dry and not too cold morning for a run. Chose the same route I ran on Tuesday. No niggles or pains, simple and enjoyable. I can’t really remember much of the first 3 km, I think I wasn’t awake properly just yet. The next 4 km were quite similar to the ones from Tuesday and I think I could have run longer if I wanted or needed to.

Going into this training plan, I had no particular race or event in mind, I just wanted to start running regularly and hopefully improve my 10 km time. Not having a race goal isn’t ideal and might potentially cause getting lazier as the time goes by or even quit it entirely. At least that’s my perception.

I looked into early 2017 local events and races. I found one, that a friend of mine told me about over a year ago. He also told me that this race nearly put him off running for good. Remembering this has actually given me some additional motivation. Yesterday morning, I registered for the Kinvara Rock and Road. I decided to run my very first half marathon. It takes place on March 4th 2017.

Registering for this race also means, that in addition to my 3 days per week training, I will have to schedule one long run at the weekend. This will bring me to 4 days running per week in total. I will start the long runs in Week 5. Is this a good idea? Have I taken on too much too early? Feel free to leave a comment.

Week 3 – Day 2 STRAVA Activity

Week 3 – Day 2

Leave a Reply

