Week 2 – Day 3

Warm up (walking, couple of jumps and skips), 6 km run, 5 min stretching.

What a great weekend overall! Saturday was totally rugby themed. Starting with bringing my +3 y/o son to his weekly RugbyTots class and finishing on a high with a fantastic Connacht win over Toulouse. This was also my son’s (Oskar) first time to the Sportsground. The weather on Saturday was amazing in Galway!

Not so much on Sunday. As I’m writing this post on the Sunday night, I can hear very intense rain hitting against the windows of our living room. I got up at 7.20 am and the weather looked ok. I decided to wait for everybody else to wake up and have a family breakfast. I was aiming to go for a run around 9.30 am or so. Unfortunately, it started raining around 8.15 am.

Thankfully, a dry spell occurred before lunch and off I went. I had to use that possibly a very short window of no rain. I’m glad I did. I don’t think it stopped lashing since 2pm.

I tried to make the run as easy as possible. I started off easy and have not been pushing too much. I’m still in the build up phase and the tempo, interval etc. sessions are yet to come. One mistake I made, was the choice of clothing. The long sleeve top and a rain jacket caused me overheating quite a bit at km 4. Also from about km 3 I started to feel a bit of discomfort, not so much pain, under my left calf. It has eased off later on, but it was then that I decided that the foam roller should come out of a dark corner. I did 10 sec on each leg muscle twice.

 

Yes, the beer was good!

Week 2 – Day 3 STRAVA Activity

Week 2 – Day 3

Leave a Reply

