Week 1/23 – Summary

This is a summary of the first week of my set 23 weeks training plan…

I have to start a couple of weeks back though. I knew I had to start the plan soon. I also knew that at least two of the three running sessions each week would have to be done early in the morning. Rather than throwing myself in at the deep end and starting the plan straight away, I decided to have two morning trials of a 6 am run. I did two of these successfuly and failed once. The two completed¬†ones were not easy. Not so much the intensity of the run as the fact of getting up so early. The one that failed? Guess! I didn’t actually get out of bed. I will stop here and get into the first training week summary, as some of the topics might actually deserve their own dedicated post.

Week 1 – Day 1 (Tuesday)

Short warm up, easy 5km run, bit of stretching at the end.

It’s still very dark at this time, but also very peaceful. I was excited to be starting my first ever training plan. I was also excited to be running in my brand new pair of runners. The run itself was enjoyable and it felt great to tick off that first day on the page stuck on the side of the fridge.

Week1 – Day 1 STRAVA Activity

Week 1 – Day 2 (Thursday)

Short warm up, easy 5km run, 5 min stretching at the end.

I ran the same route as Day 1. This has possibly made the run slightly less enjoyable. It was also colder than the last time with a bit of a breeze. The new shoes and the desire to tick off that run kept me going.

Week 1 – Day 2 STRAVA Activity

Week 1 – Day 3 (Sunday)

Short warm up, easy 6km run (should have had varied terrain), bit of stretching at the end.

I allowed for two rest days before doing the Day 3 session. Also, I did not decide to do this one at 6 am. I started this run after recovering from a consumption of a couple of craft beers the night before, followed by a Sunday dinner with my family. It was 5.30 pm when I was getting ready to get out the door. Nice, sunny weather was very inviting. Many runners were out enjoying it. I ran a different route this time, but that one additional km managed to spoil the run a bit. The thought of ticking off the run on the fridge was the only thing moving my legs. I’m starting to see a bit of a pattern developing here…

Week 1 – Day 2 STRAVA Activity

It’s Monday night as I’m writing this post, which means Week 2 starts tomorrow and the alarm clock will go off at 5.45 am.

Week 1/23 – Summary

Leave a Reply

